Falafel Burger

I was trying to figure out what to make for dinner (by reading blogs<- see it can be productive!) and was inspired to make falafel. I think it was the simplicity of the recipe/ingredient list that had me captivated. I knew I had most of the stuff on hand so I set to work to make a couple of burgers.

004

^Don’t mind the sad broccoli- that’s what happens when you cook frozen veg without much thought!

I used the recipe above as a guideline and made mine with:

1 can chickpeas

handful of oats (for texture)

handful of panko breadcrumbs

lots of cumin AND curry

minced garlic

handful of ground flax

pinch of sea salt

Blended half the can, kept the other half in tact so there would be texture. Mixed it together by hand in a huge bowl, then made patties to cook in a pan for a few minutes til slightly golden/brown. SUPER SIMPLE!

It was so delicious. It took like 5 minutes to make, which is very cool and it’s pretty healthy. Severin loves falafel and enjoyed these! We had them with ketchup, fresh from the garden tomato and a slice of mozzarella on whole wheat buns. It did seem redundant to eat on buns but I think we’ll live. It cancelled out the kale smoothie I had choked down for breakfast (blech- that doesn’t blend well)!

This entry was posted in Food and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Falafel Burger

  1. sani panini says:

    Obsessed with falafel, what a great recipe!

  2. lifttorun says:

    Falafel burgers remind me of home! Awww. (: They are my favorite next to tofu burgers.

  3. Brittany says:

    This looks DEEELICIOUS!

  4. caloricandcrazy says:

    Mmmm I love falafel burgers =]

  5. Love falafel burgers and that looks delicious!!

  6. Mmm this burger sounds amazing! And I love how easy it is:)

Leave a Reply

