Homemade Mexican Seitan Tacos

003

I ate the most delicious tacos ever last night! And the night before too, actually, since Plant Food for People was set up at the Art Walk. Those were the most delicious jackfruit tacos, these are the most delicious seitan tacos.

I was starving from the day’s activity- a 1 1/2 mile trail run (long run cut short by the worst cramps ever) followed by playing in the deserted playground at the Rose Bowl with my little brother (I guess all the other kids were still snug in bed at 7am on a Sunday morning? I wonder what that’s like…) while we waited for my parents’ to be done with their runs. When we got home, I did some kitchen prepwork to be ready for the week- I cleaned out the fridge, made some seitan and set out on a run to go get bananas from Trader Joe’s. It’s only 2 1/2 miles away and I made it there in 20 minutes! I walked back home with my heavy load (20 bananas!) while chatting on the phone with Severin, who has just returned to Berkeley for school. It was a nice walk; I love sneaking in workouts like that!

When I got home I couldn’t resist the enticing seitan aroma, so I organized it to make later cooking prep easier. I had baked it as a huge square so I was able to slice some (for sandwiches) and shred the rest (for tacos, stirfries). It looks so creepily meatlike, doesn’t it?

022021

Let me tell you how I did this! I based my recipe off of Elise’s, to get measurements right.

Mexican Seitan

3 cups of vital wheat gluten

1 3/4 water

a generous squeeze of Bragg’s Liquid Aminos

a spoonful of nutritional yeast

a spoonful of garlic powder

lots of ground cumin! <—that’s what makes it Mexican

making things Mexican on The Office…

Mix everything together. Let sit for a few minutes while oven heats, then wrap in foil and cook at 350 for at least 45minutes- definitely check on it to get texture you want, i.e. not burnt!

Just 5 minutes to effortlessly mix some ingredients and you have yourself some very tasty faux meat. My favorite part is that it’s a whole lot cheaper than store-bought.

The Mexican Seitan Tacos I had last night consisted of toasted corn tortillas smeared with sour cream+refried beans, baby lettuce, hot sauce and sautéed seitan with bell peppers. It was really really good. I can see myself enjoying a burrito like this for a quick lunch after class/before work.

A fridge full of seitan is a good thing to have. Go make some!

026

This entry was posted in Food and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Homemade Mexican Seitan Tacos

  1. mm i love seitan! and these tacos sound amazing.

    that office clip…hilarious!

  2. Tara says:

    I’ve never tried making my own seitan. I actually haven’t had it in a while. It makes a mean imitation philly cheesesteak! I really want to try jackfruit too. I’ve read about it, but never seen or tasted it!

  3. elise says:

    awesomeeeeeeeeeeee. so why didnt you invite me over?

  4. Courtney says:

    Yum! I’ve never had seitan but that recipe looks tasty! :D

  5. Stephanie says:

    Ah, those look so good! I can almost taste them. I don’t know why, but I feel intimidated by seitan. Seitan and scones…two things I’ve never felt quite confident enough to make.

  6. Ameena says:

    I’ve never tried Seitan before! But I can tell you that I am often using a visit to Trader Joe’s as an excuse for a walk. :)

  7. Brittany says:

    I need to make this stuff..your food always looks SO good..and I need to stay away from soy based veggie products cause it hurts my tum tum!

  8. good job squeezing in a TJ run! I love to fit exercise into my daily tasks too :-) The tacos look yummy! Big hugs! xxxx

  9. Ohh thanks for sharing! :) I loove tacos!

  10. hungry fella says:

    Seitan tacos sound really good! I love the last picture of the seitan sitting in the fridge haha!

  11. Sandra says:

    You are making me hungry :D

  12. Samantha says:

    I’ve been wanting to try seitan but wanted a nice flavorful way to make it. Thanks for the tip!

Leave a Reply

